LEX can be configured to run in a mode where the connected directory server cannot not be accessed with write operations. All application operations to create, change or delete directory objects are blocked. This is for security reasons to prevent unintentional changes to the directory.
In fact, the ReadOnly mode is the default mode when you launch the application the first time.
Just for clarification: Even if you are in the normal Read/Write Mode, LEX can only do changes to the directory objects and attributes if the current user credentials have the appropriate permissions! The ReadOnly Mode is good if you have a high-privilegeded account and you don't want to change data unintentionally.
In the ReadOnly mode, all buttons and menu option which are related to write access operations (edit / delete / move / rename and so on) are disabled:
You can also disable/enable the ReadOnly mode later in the application by choosing the option Tools - Options:
The checkbox Run LEX in ReadOnly mode is in the General tab:
The status bar can show you if LEX is operatig in ReadOnly Mode. In this case, you see the operation mode indicator in the right corner:
The bitmap above shows the indicator for ReadOnly Mode: All the LEX functions which can be used to change the data in the directory are blocked. This is for security reasons to prevent unintentional changes to the directory.
The bitmap above shows the indicator for normal operation mode where write access is possible (if the current user credentials have the appropiate permissions). To emphasize the fact that directory data can be changed now and that LEX normally cannot undo this changes, the status indicator is blinking in this case.
You can disable the display of the status indicator in the application options: Tools - Options - Dialog Settings - Indicate READONLY / READWRITE mode in status bar.
In the default LEX configuration, a message appears at program start when you are in ReadOnly Mode to draw your attention to this limitation:
You can disable the display of this message in the application options: Tools - Options - Dialog Settings - Inform user when READONLY mode is active at program start.